What Was I Thinking?

Weekly Update 4

with 3 comments

Hooray, WordPress 2.3 came out! And tags are usable, but by no means ideal. No matter, I managed to do what I need to do.

Made a shitload of progress this week.

  1. Upgraded to WordPress 2.3
  2. Rolled out my basic design
  3. Got basic functional categories and tags working
  4. Fixed a bunch of stuff that wasn’t working in IE7
  5. Put up a couple of informative posts
  6. Processed a bunch of images
  7. Learned a bunch about Glycaemic Load
  8. Added Gravatars
  9. Added the sitemap
  10. MOST IMPORTANTLY: Got the secondary loop working with tags

Does anyone use Gravatars? I like the idea, but the reliability seems a bit iffy. I’m supporting them for now but will keep my eyes open if there’s an alternative. One that doesn’t involve hosting the pics myself, I mean. Between moderating the new site, The Average Gamer and my day job, I really don’t have time to vet user images. I like the rating system in place on Gravatars.

As for the site itself, it’s up at OneServing.com. The idea is to show people what one serving of each food looks like, and its nutritional value. That way, when you’re later eating a Big Mac you can look at the amount of lettuce and go “Hey, half a serving of lettuce. Only need to eat 14 more of these today and I’ll be on my way to a healthy diet.”

The bit about the “secondary loop” – the idea is that people can also submit their own food tips on each food page. For example, you’re looking at a serving of cherry tomatoes. You think “Hey, I think cherry tomatoes are fantastic in a grilled cheese sandwich”. You can sign up with the site and let the world know your tip for grilled cheese and cherry tomato sandwiches. Tag it with “cherry tomatoes”. Everyone who then looks up one serving of cherry tomatoes will see your idea displayed below. If you’re signed up with gravatars, they’ll also see your picture.

That functionality isn’t available yet. It probably will be by this time next week. In the meantime, see what’s in one serving of cherry tomatoes.

Written by Weefz

30 September, 2007 at 10:32 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] other exciting thing is in very early stages at the moment. Remember that I had issues with Gravatar? MeeCards might be a viable alternative. While Favourit are allowing you to view and respond to […]

  2. […] 18 10 2007 Remeber those issues I had with Gravatar and unreliability? Automattic, owners of WordPress.com have acquired […]

  3. […] 18 10 2007 Remeber those issues I had with Gravatar and unreliability? Automattic, owners of WordPress.com have acquired […]


Leave a Reply

