What Was I Thinking?

More Focus for OneServing

leave a comment »

I’ve been thinking about the social-networking side of OneServing for the past couple of weeks. As you may know, the drive for the site is twofold: 1) To provide basic portion sizes and nutritional info in an easy-to-follow layout. 2) To provide a space for users to share their food tips without the hassle of managing and promoting their own blog.

For a while I thought that contributors would want a more developed social side. People seem to like all that friend-linking, author-tracking, customised profile, personal messaging functionality. After talking to the guys from KickApps and OneSite at FOWA London, I’m beginning to think that it would just add needless complexity. (Sorry, Michael and Dax! Not the effect you were hoping for, I’m sure.)

I don’t want to run a social-media empire. I just want to spread the word about food portions, and let other people do the same. WordPress provides author RSS feeds that I can link in the template. Users can communicate through comments and provide whatever contact info they want on their author pages. They can link to their own blogs. I don’t need or want to manage all that stuff. I’m sticking with my core concept and the KISS philosophy.

Written by Weefz

7 October, 2007 at 1:04 pm

Leave a Reply

