What Was I Thinking?

Weekly Update – Weeks 5 and 6

leave a comment »

I was bad. I missed my weekly update for the past couple of weeks. Here’s what’s been happening:

  1. Took a bunch of food photos
  2. Posted 6 fruit and veg posts
  3. Added Glycaemic Load
  4. Added Calories
  5. Dropped foodquote
  6. Changed the style of the food info box based on feedback – apparently it was “threatening”
  7. Talked to a graphic designer mate about getting a proper logo
  8. Added a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-ShareAlike 2.0 UK: England and Wales licence
  9. Worried needlessly about a replacement for Gravatar

So lots of little things. Add them up and I now have a fully operational almost-stylish food info site! :) Pity Google seems to indexing everything BUT the individual food info pages. Must look into that.

I was originally going for a very simple approach to nutrition – eat the right portion sizes from the right food groups and you should be reasonably healthy. My sister convinced me to add calories and glycaemic index. I think she’s probably right that people are used to calories – may as well give them all the info at once. Glycaemic index is another matter. It seemed a bit faddish but is supposed to be very sound advice. I’m keeping it for now. Must do more background reading to make sure it’s ethically okay. It certainly seems to be.

Foodquote – whe I first designed everything, the food info boxes looked a little empty. I had planned to find interesting, amusing or informative quotes for every food. Turns out it’s a lot harder than you’d think to find short literary passages on the subject of cherry tomatoes. Not only that, the information section is now rather full with the addition of calories and GL. For the moment, I have deemed the foodquote unneccessary.

Written by Weefz

19 October, 2007 at 3:26 pm

Leave a Reply

