What Was I Thinking?

#OneADay 6 – In Which I Have Nothing Worthwhile to Say

with 3 comments

So, it’s day 6 of one a day and I’ve already run out of inspiration. Well, not exactly. But my previous few posts have been all SUPER SERIOUS STUFF and I want to do something frivolous.

Dark turquoise robot clockI shall describe the cute stuff on my desk, which – thanks to my ever-increasing Twitter obsession – is more and more resembling a collection of… well… shit. Hang on, I started this project to improve my writing skills so really that sentence calls for a metaphor of some kind, doesn’t it?

…on my desk, which is groaning under the detritus from an autumn’s worth of promotional tat.

It’s not a metaphor, but I guess it’s marginally better than saying a collection of shit. Both are true. However, interspersed among the conference-going tat, unfiled bank statements, redundant stationery (does anyone need 11 pens and 2 rolls of sticky tape on their PC desk? Really?) and things-I-should-be-dealing-with-but-am-not, are some lovely little gems.

My square-headed robot clock, pictured above. He was a leaving present from my last permanent position – the one I was at for two years. Proper solid metal with 5 points of articulation, no less. I love him to bits.

I also have a little pink bear, whom I have named Little Pink Bear. I have a string voodoo pirate with a drawing pin peg leg, whom I have named Pirate Dude* and then I have this.

Cyooooots on mah desk

What is he? My bf picked him up from MCM. Some kind of Japanese yeti, perhaps? Answers below, please. I can’t name him without knowing what he is.

—-
*I also have a polar bear named Frank.

Written by Weefz

7 January, 2011 at 12:22 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. On my desk: um… just a keyboard, monitor, and mouse. I cleaned today, ha ha. Otherwise I pile up junk and collectibles and things I really don’t need all around me.

    Not sure who that little fella is. He needs a haircut though ^__^

    Cody Winn

    7 January, 2011 at 12:45 am

  2. Aww, nooo! He may not be able to see but it’s the essence of his charm. Perhaps I will name him Samson ;)

    Weefz

    8 January, 2011 at 12:29 am

  3. I don’t have a desk… my lap on the sofa is all that resembles a ‘desk’, although I do get cluttered! I have bills, my camera, some Hello Kitty sweets and a notepad on the side of my sofa, and that’s me being tidy.

    I do love your robot!!!

    Jennifer Taylor

    11 January, 2011 at 12:29 pm


Leave a Reply

